Old 1st July 2009, 07:32 AM

McBush is on a distinguished road
Default Where do you come from and how would you describe it?    Show Printable Version  Print   Email this Page  Email  

How would you descibe where you come from?

I come from Muranga North, a place of serene beauty tucked away between Nyeri, Nyandurua and Muranga districts. A place far away from civilisation of glitters and glamours of Nairobi but a countryside like no other in Kenya! With an elevation of more than 7,000 feet above the sea level, the landscape is picturesque and undulating with rolling green hills, valleys, streaming wells, lush green vegetation, forests... During the day the air is limpid, fresh and thin but at nights it's cold and can get shivery. (No mosquitoes though!)

During the noon-day, the air in the atmopshere is restful and as you sit by the shade and watch the profusion of mighty, weightless, ever-changing clouds passes by up high in the skies, there is this scintillating feeling to your soul that is so therapeutic! . Oh Nostalgia Nostalgia!!

The main cash crop in the area is Tea and to some coffee although the land is considered to be unsuitable for coffee farming due to the high altitude. And in recent times some (so I hear) have ventured into horticultural and some few very brave ones into unknown territories of vineyards and wine-making.
We also grow bananas, sweet potatoes, all kind of fruits, etc etc, and we also rear cattle, sheep, goats, chicken, pigs, turkey and ducks.

The area is accessible from Nairobi, either through Naro Moru via Nyahururu, or if you are travelling through southern route, Thika, Muranga highway.

I wonder if anyone here have these kinds of vivid memories of where you come from (ancestral homeland) that usually gives you those deep nostalgic feelings?

Last edited by McBush; 1st July 2009 at 11:15 AM.
Old 1st July 2009, 07:51 AM

ThisAngelWearsGivenchy is on a distinguished road

I so looove the green aspect of Murang'a. I never knew it was that fresh. Except i have only been there once and it wasn't a fun adventure: I was paying my last respects to a friend A little off topic but i guess Murang'a will always bring me sadness It's beautiful though.
Old 1st July 2009, 08:14 AM

Nomaswazi is on a distinguished road

I come from South Africa,born and bred in the Gauteng Province, living in the Eastrand reagion in a town called Benoni.

Gauteng is very metropolitan, with Johannesburg(Main City), always buzzing with new opportunities, the City that never rest.

Life in that part of SA is very fast, people are always in a rush.Its either they are busy chasing money, fame, beauty or love.Were have all the SA tribes, and half of East, North,West and central africa residing in the surrounding areas.

I love Gauteng.I love the fact that you can become anything and anyone you choose to be.I love the fact that entertainment options are endless, there is something for everyone out there.I love the fact that Gauteng is where the trends are set, movements are born, opinions are formulated and change is innitiated.

The best way to describe Gauteng is "the capital state of Africa"

If you want to experience The African renaissance , come to Gauteng.
Old 1st July 2009, 08:24 AM

Originally Posted by ThisAngelWearsGivenchy View Post
I so looove the green aspect of Murang'a. I never knew it was that fresh. Except i have only been there once and it wasn't a fun adventure: I was paying my last respects to a friend A little off topic but i guess Murang'a will always bring me sadness It's beautiful though.
Sorry to hear about your friend.

But Muranga is huge - different parts with different kinds of weather variations. The southern part is lowland, dry and hot, whereas North part is high altitude, with abundant rainfall and aslo very hilly. But all in all the landsacpe is rapidly changing like anywhere else in Kenya due to de-forestation, logging, charcoal buring, soil erosion and of course the global warming. I actually doubt the landscape of my village is still the same as I have described there. Those were my early years (childhood) memories.

Last edited by McBush; 1st July 2009 at 03:00 PM.
Old 1st July 2009, 08:34 AM

I love Gauteng.I love the fact that you can become anything and anyone you choose to be.I love the fact that entertainment options are endless, there is something for everyone out there.I love the fact that Gauteng is where the trends are set, movements are born, opinions are formulated and change is innitiated.
That's sound idyllic! I wonder if Guateng is a countryside, city or in-between?
Old 1st July 2009, 08:43 AM

True is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Nomaswazi View Post
If you want to experience The African renaissance , come to Gauteng.
and where were you during xhenophobia attacks?is that what you call african renaissance? come to gauteng? to slaughter us sitting ducks slaughtered african style.and just remember you are makwere in here. wheterver you call foreighns africans nationals in your country
Old 1st July 2009, 08:45 AM

Originally Posted by McBush View Post
Sorry to hear about your friend.

But Muranga is huge - different parts with different kinds of weather variations. The southern part is lowland, dry and hot, whereas North part is high altitude, with abundant rainfall and aslo very hilly. But all in all the landsacpe is rapidly changing like anywhere else in Kenya due to de-forestation, logging, charcoal buring, soil erosion and of course the global warming. I actually doubt the landscape of my village is the same as I have described there. Those were my early years (childhood) memories.
Where i went is quite hilly, banana plantations, windy (lol that doesn't describe much) Well it was quite cold at the time.
Old 1st July 2009, 08:54 AM

Originally Posted by ThisAngelWearsGivenchy View Post
Where i went is quite hilly, banana plantations, windy (lol that doesn't describe much) Well it was quite cold at the time.
And how would you describe where you come from?
lets hear how is your place, you never know, after describing it you could see influx of tourists coming there! It could a gem hidden away, so lets hear it
Old 1st July 2009, 09:07 AM

kapuf is on a distinguished road

I come from a semi-arid area called Katheri in Nanyuki near the slopes of Mt Kenya. The only good thing about this desert is that its near the famous Mt Kenya safari club otherwise its a very sleepy village. Bure kabisa...but on a brighter note it's home to a British Army base and we grew up calling the "Njoni"
Old 1st July 2009, 09:15 AM

Originally Posted by McBush View Post
And how would you describe where you come from?
lets hear how is your place, you never know, after describing it you could see influx of tourists coming there! It could a gem hidden away, so lets hear it
I don't have much to say about where i grew up coz i find nothing excitingly "exotic" about it. I love it to bits, but i want it to have more African aspects. I mean what else is there to say apart from the noise, matatu, sheng, childhood estate rumours? I have written about Nairobi somewhere on some doucumentary, but i always feel something is amiss, something that isn't known already. Maybe just that you can go to the National Park without driving for too long Or drive kidogo longer to Ngong/Kiserian and see Maasai cows fighting with traffic (I love this bit). Ocha...well....slowly cringing. I sadly don't know much about it (Not something i'm very proud of) I am half something half something so i believe i have 2 belongings. Excuse my not wanting to be too detailed/too known