Old 1st July 2009, 09:30 AM

Tichaboni is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by kapuf View Post
I come from a semi-arid area called Katheri in Nanyuki near the slopes of Mt Kenya. The only good thing about this desert is that its near the famous Mt Kenya safari club otherwise its a very sleepy village. Bure kabisa...but on a brighter note it's home to a British Army base and we grew up calling the "Njoni"
Then it means you know Meru and Nkubu
Old 1st July 2009, 09:56 AM

kapuf is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Tichaboni View Post
Then it means you know Meru and Nkubu
Not really but I see where you're coming from. The Katheri I'm talking about is different from the one near Meru...but that is my ancestral land. History goes that guys from Katheri bought land in Nanyuki and settled there and opted to retain the name just like Kiambaa in Rift Valley. Otherwise bado nashughulikia ile story..chill tu kiasi.
Old 1st July 2009, 06:10 PM

a.wanjala is on a distinguished road

I lived many place when I was a child. Dago, Kili, Jahmu, Santack, Uthiru, Kikuyu, Eldoret, Limuru, and others. I'm not really from one place, I'm from everywhere.

Many of my favorite childhood memories are from when we lived in Limuru. Nice cool climate, maybe a little chili. Life was simple back then...It's a nice place.
Old 2nd July 2009, 12:19 AM

maziwa

Originally Posted by Nomaswazi View Post
I come from South Africa,born and bred in the Gauteng Province, living in the Eastrand reagion in a town called Benoni.

Gauteng is very metropolitan, with Johannesburg(Main City), always buzzing with new opportunities, the City that never rest.

Life in that part of SA is very fast, people are always in a rush.Its either they are busy chasing money, fame, beauty or love.Were have all the SA tribes, and half of East, North,West and central africa residing in the surrounding areas.

I love Gauteng.I love the fact that you can become anything and anyone you choose to be.I love the fact that entertainment options are endless, there is something for everyone out there.I love the fact that Gauteng is where the trends are set, movements are born, opinions are formulated and change is innitiated.

The best way to describe Gauteng is "the capital state of Africa"

If you want to experience The African renaissance , come to Gauteng.
Is the Tokoloshe a real thing or moreso do you believe in tokoloshe?
Old 2nd July 2009, 03:32 AM

Originally Posted by McBush View Post
How would you descibe where you come from?

I come from Muranga North, a place of serene beauty tucked away between Nyeri, Nyandurua and Muranga districts. A place far away from civilisation of glitters and glamours of Nairobi but a countryside like no other in Kenya! With an elevation of more than 7,000 feet above the sea level, the landscape is picturesque and undulating with rolling green hills, valleys, streaming wells, lush green vegetation, forests... During the day the air is limpid, fresh and thin but at nights it's cold and can get shivery. (No mosquitoes though!)

During the noon-day, the air in the atmopshere is restful and as you sit by the shade and watch the profusion of mighty, weightless, ever-changing clouds passes by up high in the skies, there is this scintillating feeling to your soul that is so therapeutic! . Oh Nostalgia Nostalgia!!

The main cash crop in the area is Tea and to some coffee although the land is considered to be unsuitable for coffee farming due to the high altitude. And in recent times some (so I hear) have ventured into horticultural and some few very brave ones into unknown territories of vineyards and wine-making.
We also grow bananas, sweet potatoes, all kind of fruits, etc etc, and we also rear cattle, sheep, goats, chicken, pigs, turkey and ducks.

The area is accessible from Nairobi, either through Naro Moru via Nyahururu, or if you are travelling through southern route, Thika, Muranga highway.

I wonder if anyone here have these kinds of vivid memories of where you come from (ancestral homeland) that usually gives you those deep nostalgic feelings?
I was born and raised up in Muranga town..memories were made there as it was both a ocha and a tao....the town hasn't really changed much in the last 15yrs or so...Last Dec me and didier went to rukisha mwaka huko and man prostitutes there are age 16 and below..I was shocked!!!!-as in they just come to you while you are enjoyin ur drink-(Marka Villa)..bad luck to you if you are well dressed and have a Nai thingy in you...sad lakini.
Old 2nd July 2009, 03:38 AM

Originally Posted by kapuf View Post
I come from a semi-arid area called Katheri in Nanyuki near the slopes of Mt Kenya. The only good thing about this desert is that its near the famous Mt Kenya safari club otherwise its a very sleepy village. Bure kabisa...but on a brighter note it's home to a British Army base and we grew up calling the "Njoni"
I may have passed ur place as i take clients huko..bt hio place is a bit dry ukishapita side ya kiganjo/chaka places..one wonders wats up wd ds place...talkin abt Nanyuki thats a town full of sodom n gomorah..actually we don't hide info from tourists we tell them reliii ilifikia mwisho Nanyuki as wazungu cldnt conc n leave the kiuk gals around that area..true story.
Old 2nd July 2009, 05:24 AM

Nomaswazi is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by McBush View Post
That's sound idyllic! I wonder if Guateng is a countryside, city or in-between?

Repeat after me.Next time I shall use google before I ask such a stupid question

Johannesburg is found in the Gauteng province.Nothing bush about Gauteng.
Old 2nd July 2009, 05:26 AM

Originally Posted by maziwa View Post
Is the Tokoloshe a real thing or moreso do you believe in tokoloshe?

No sain person has really seen one, doubts if it exists.Only the poor people who have nothing better to do with themselves except bewitch each other, have claimed to have seen one.
Old 2nd July 2009, 05:30 AM

Originally Posted by Nomaswazi View Post
Repeat after me.Next time I shall use google before I ask such a stupid question

Johannesburg is found in the Gauteng province.Nothing bush about Gauteng.
She may have thought along the lines of BUSH coz she is McBush, you have to excuse her; we all do.

@maziwa...ha ha ha! The tokoloshe thing is still haunting you? I
Old 2nd July 2009, 05:34 AM

Originally Posted by true View Post
and where were you during xhenophobia attacks?is that what you call african renaissance? come to gauteng? to slaughter us sitting ducks slaughtered african style.and just remember you are makwere in here. Wheterver you call foreighns africans nationals in your country
oh no darling, there is no need for us to slaughter kenyans, why waste that energy, what for, i mean its not like you guys are a threat of any sort, meek east africans? apart from that darling:d, you guys do a perfect job around december of each year.riot for no aparrent reason, slaughter each other, stupid tribal wars. so why the hell do you think you need us to come do something you do sooooooooooo well already?