Let me start with a kidogo history of Mashada. Couple years ago most people who frequested mashada were people in the diaspora. I think then when guys back home went to cyber cafes their main reason was to reply emails or stuff like that. By then most offices only IT and managers had internet on their desktop.
Ofcourse its all changed and now everyone has quite huge access to the net and that is why in Mashada more traffic is Kenyan based than abroad based. Problem with that as chipo has said a divide is already emerging. Kenyans at home think all Kenyans abroad are this arrogant matako washing failures. And guys abroad think all Kenyans back home are this poor people who are jobless using 10 bob in cyber cafes to insult them in mashada. I think that would be further from the truth. Judging by my buddies who are back home lots of them are really, really doing good in life and its true they rival any Kenyan in the diaspora. Most work in the corporate structure etc. Same thing with us who are here in the diaspora. That myth of sijui people working in Mcdonalds!!!! This is my 8th year here and I am yet to meet a Kenyan working in a minimum wage environment. So trust me there are no Kenyans flipping burgers. |
The other jobo myth is the CNA job (certified nursing assistant). There are a huge number of Kenyans who work in this industry. And the same way back home nurses in hospitals have to clean bed pans, same thing with the ones who work in this industry. The reason most Kenyans tend to gravitate to this industry is because of, most of the time the amount of overtime this job avails. People easily do 70 hours a week. Meaning if you make 14 bucks an hour, 30 hours of those you are paid time and a half which is like 21 bucks. Most jobs are at night, and so its easy to go to school during the day. Btw most CNA’s end up getting an LVN (licenced vocational nurse) or a RN (registered nurse)
The rest of Kenyans are in the corporate world or service industry. Most of my close friends are in IT or Finance and make quite good money. Ofcourse there is also customer service. Good thing about corporate world, its an 8 to 5, so means your evenings and weekend you are free to do whatever!!! With that said, there is the huge student population, who work crazy hours to pay their bills, mainly those are the ones who struggle coz of school fees. But when they are done they also rake in some nice dollars |
These kind of divisions are not doing any good,Whats wrong with Kenyans?tribalism and now this "wasee wa majuu na wasee wako mtaani"
Everyone at home is trying makes ends meet within his/her means and paying taxes to the GoK,Those abroad are helping alot as well the Economy appreciates the remittances and Investments coming from them,and not only Financially,People like Jamela are needed at home,coz this brain drain is killing Africa also.guys get education abroad and the western Governments are more than willing to accomodate and give them residence and eventuallly Citizenship when they realise they will gain something from you..So lets give a shout out to Jamela amehepa walami akerudi home kusomea job ya akina Orengo na Muite(my Lawyers FYI) Nitarudi mtaani pia mimi nikimaliza ku,ma,ra walami ngeta..bado sijaget ule amebeba ganji poa,naGet tu ma cards mob kama kubaff Where were we? aaaaaaaaaaaaaah si mmeUnderstand lakini,sioni poa..boza mob!
Haha MUK are you competing with YB in starting new threads?
The thing is Kenya is growing and at the same time the world is shrinking. Kenyans abroad are realising that they dont hold the same advantage over kenyans at home that was there years ago. So in order to compensate for this "loss in status", some kenyans abroad will try to "oversell" their "abroad status" and this irritates kenyans at home.. Personally I think its a good thing that Kenyans are moving away from worshipping anything foreign. There is a still some way to go but the underlying idea that "abroad" ni mambo yote is fading and that is progress. Kenyans at home, please try to differentiate between someone who is just commenting on the differences that one comes across when they return and those who try to big themselves up by putting others down.... Last edited by chemical; 18th June 2009 at 10:17 AM. |
Let say for us kenyan at least we got some dignity.compared 2 other foreignrs majuu.MUK me b u dnt involve uaself with kenyan alot,cz wengi wanasota majuu.i met n stay wit a few from mombasa in manchester,i actually knw what they undergoing.its not an easy ride.dnt lie
But to your point, You are right the globe is becoming smaller. But I think also coz of the net access, eg forums like mashada, Skype, yahoo messenger and esp facebook. Kenyans back home and the ones here are interacting more than they used to. I think he storo of sijui Kenyans abroad are looking down on Kenyans back home is the usual crutch that insecure people use to justify their hating. I have buddies back in Kenya that I sincerely envy. This are guys you finished high school with and sometimes when I go through their facebook photos they are living large, have very pretty girl friends and nice cars and homes. with that said I can choose to say, oh they are just bragging and their intention is to make me envious. But the truth is they are doing well and ofcourse even their photos will reflect so. If a kenyan abroad puts photos of just his maisha over here, immidietly he will be castigated he is ringaing. Dont get me wrong, there are bad potatoes, Kenyans who came from very humble backgrounds back home and now when abroad think they are the sh..it. Or some kenyans who start thread after thread on how poor and miserable the ones at abroad are. example Jaugenya |
And FYI there close to 80 thousand kenyans in the Dallas Fortworth Metroplex. so I know very very many kenyans in this city. and I have also lived in Cali and Washington DC, so there maybe the ones sotaing and I know one or two. But most of them have been here maybe like 2 or three years, or are still college students juggling bills and school fees |
glad you've brought this topic up ... i think all was well between Kenyans in the diaspora and Kenyans here at home ... until some few wachokozi decided to take it to another level, by downplaying Kenyans from the opposite side
now for instance a Kenyan here decides to say that most Kenyans abroad clean people's as$e$ for a living. now of course a Kenyan abroad would not like this, because it may or may not be true, but the words used in this manner are quite offensive... so the guy decides to hit back... its just defense mechanism u know!? The guy defends him/herself by hating on Kenya and the peeps still living here ... says Kenya and the people in it are backward, poor, smelly, or whatever ... then sh!.t goes down and all hell breaks loose ... all of a sudden people are going back and forth at each other ... and its tiring to watch. because people become insulting - but as u know, very many people cannot just simply behave rationally and accept the good and the bad of wherever it is they are at! its always compe ... so what do we then do?? i'll tell you what i'll do ... when i get a spare moment, i go downstairs, grab a kebab(they r so yummie by the way), come back, log onto mashada, and watch the drama unfold...sometimes i actually hear people's voices as they insult each other ... then i log off and continue with jobo
| abroad, divide, home, kenyan, kenyans, wtf |