Go Back   Mashada Forums > Music & Entertainment > Books > what book are you reading now

kipusa(uk) is on a distinguished road

Default what book are you reading now - 09-13-2007, 01:34 PM

Am currently reading ' A Piece of Cake' its got me in stitches aki. I Have never read book that real yani even on the bus pple think am mad laffing to myself. Aki Cupcake is quite a character also made me understand the world of drugs, turning tricks, gangs in a whole new way. Its very interesting am not even halfway through and am loving the book already!!!

Hermione is on a distinguished road

Default 09-14-2007, 02:57 AM

Cool. Who's it by?

I'm reading 'Marker' by Robin Cook and am somehow dissapointed in it. He goes into great detail to explain the most mundane of happenings and is repetitive. I think he had trouble seeing the world from a woman's perspective and shouldn't have tried. I don't recommend it but will trudge through to the end.

Beacause I know!
Shyloxx26

Default What book? - 09-14-2007, 02:59 AM

I'm reading Nervbous Conditions by TsiTsi Dangarembga. It's such an interesting book. Talks about village life. Kumbe things are the same in South Africa. Having an uncle who went to study to become a teacher, going to live at his house and enjoying all the good things that life has to offer.

Going to the river to bathe and fetch water, looking after the cattle, kuwasha moto na kuni kule jikoni. Eating meat and chapati only at Christmas, superstision etc etc.........Some parts of the book leave me in stitches too.

What other books have you read? My list includes:

The Mossad (abt the Israeli secret service - a must read. very intriguing)
Rich Dad Poor Dad (inspirational)
Sherlock Holmes mysteries
A World of Peoples (a comedy)
All You Can Do is All You Can Do (inspirational)
Thinking Big (inspirational)
Being the Best (inspirational)
The Bang Bang Club (journalists who take photos during war and civil unrest)
Single but Gifted (how to accept living life as a single person)
The Oswald Story (the guy who supposedly assassinated JFKennedy)

Default 09-14-2007, 11:58 AM

Originally Posted by Hermione View Post
Cool. Who's it by?

I'm reading 'Marker' by Robin Cook and am somehow dissapointed in it. He goes into great detail to explain the most mundane of happenings and is repetitive. I think he had trouble seeing the world from a woman's perspective and shouldn't have tried. I don't recommend it but will trudge through to the end.
its called A piece of cake a memoir its by Cupcake brown waa its fascinating it goes into how she started turning ricks foster homes the system that is involved with it. The struggles she went through to survive, rape yani its bascially real life SET UP back when blacks and white didnt mix and gangs had come about like the eight tray its really good its a big book but worth the read. you will be chekayn then thinking is a writer supposed to be writing this n'way its got me all excited hadi am reading it slowly so that it wont end. aLways a pity when a writer doesnt deliver the way you thot he/she would sorry about the disappointment

Default 09-14-2007, 12:09 PM

Originally Posted by Shyloxx26 View Post
I'm reading Nervbous Conditions by TsiTsi Dangarembga. It's such an interesting book. Talks about village life. Kumbe things are the same in South Africa. Having an uncle who went to study to become a teacher, going to live at his house and enjoying all the good things that life has to offer.

Going to the river to bathe and fetch water, looking after the cattle, kuwasha moto na kuni kule jikoni. Eating meat and chapati only at Christmas, superstision etc etc.........Some parts of the book leave me in stitches too.

What other books have you read? My list includes:

The Mossad (abt the Israeli secret service - a must read. very intriguing)
Rich Dad Poor Dad (inspirational)
Sherlock Holmes mysteries
A World of Peoples (a comedy)
All You Can Do is All You Can Do (inspirational)
Thinking Big (inspirational)
Being the Best (inspirational)
The Bang Bang Club (journalists who take photos during war and civil unrest)
Single but Gifted (how to accept living life as a single person)
The Oswald Story (the guy who supposedly assassinated JFKennedy)
wow cool I have read so many books hata if i wrote the list, it would be endless. that single but gifted sijui is catchy am not single but i think would be useful kusoma maybe kuna vitu that i would learn from it. Unajua most people cant be single yani they dont jua how to be without someone.

two books that have left like an everlasting IMPACT in my life are:

I dared to Call Him Father by Bilquis Sheikh with Richard Schneider
its about a very prominet muslim women who goes through divorce moves back to pakistan and eventually becomes a christian and the challenges she faced.
the other one is Tough TALK- by 3 ex gang memebers from London one of tehem Steve used to kunywa 100 pints of alcohol a week and was a bouncer. all the 3 guys in this books were club bouncers in London and used to work as tax collectors for the gang they were in and if you dnt pay up coz they are also power lifters u get knocked out. iTS ABOUT THE CHANGES THEY GO THROUGH once they toka the gang and become christians. What was fascinating is when the mentioned the street names which i have pitiad am like whoa yani all this used to happen here and still happens but u cant jua

Default 09-14-2007, 01:01 PM

You should try this book - The No 1 Ladies' Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith. Its an easy read but quite funny. About a lady in Africa who opens a detective agency and the characters she comes across and also about her life growing up in the village. A must read.

If your interested in gangster life in the eastend of london read Martina Cole books; very gritty,violent, unforgiving, fascinating and unputdownable. Dont start readinh her books if you have any plans that day. You'll be hooked from the first sentence

Default 09-14-2007, 01:09 PM

You should try this book - The No 1 Ladies' Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith. Its an easy read but quite funny. About a lady in Africa who opens a detective agency and the characters she comes across and also about her life growing up in the village. A must read.

If your interested in gangster life in the eastend of london read Martina Cole books; very gritty,violent, unforgiving, fascinating and unputdownable. Dont start readinh her books if you have any plans that day. You'll be hooked from the first sentence
good stuff the detective one seems fascinating, yah i penda gangs and stuff like that thanks when i get them w h smith, black stone ama where? n'way might search them online but story ya kuwait sijui 2 weks for shipment sitaki
thanks for that will defo check em out

Default 09-14-2007, 01:16 PM

Originally Posted by kipusa(uk) View Post
good stuff the detective one seems fascinating, yah i penda gangs and stuff like that thanks when i get them w h smith, black stone ama where? n'way might search them online but story ya kuwait sijui 2 weks for shipment sitaki
thanks for that will defo check em out
I normally shop at WH Smith but they should be widely available.
Do you know any other books by African authors. Im looking to extend my reading cos i've been reading mainly western authors and im getting a bit bored

Sugarplum

Default 09-17-2007, 12:51 PM

[quote=sdolphin;465223]You should try this book - The No 1 Ladies' Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith. Its an easy read but quite funny. About a lady in Africa who opens a detective agency and the characters she comes across and also about her life growing up in the village. A must read.

I read that book. It's not very popular so I just got juiced that someone else stumbled upon it. Do you remember the part when she had to kill a snake that had gotten into her engine? That brings me chills to this day. That book brought a yearning for me to visit Botswana that I am going to quench next year.

Great minds discuss ideas. Average minds discuss events. Small minds discuss people.

Last edited by Sugarplum : 09-17-2007 at 12:54 PM.

Default 09-17-2007, 02:22 PM

I normally shop at WH Smith but they should be widely available.
Do you know any other books by African authors. Im looking to extend my reading cos i've been reading mainly western authors and im getting a bit bored
i wont lie to u and sema am very patriotic its hard really hard to get into african writers. one coz their books si ati utazipata kwa book shelves easily. to be honest am still discovering and stumbling into nice written pieces of work. nway i think once am setlled in uni for htis yr immo look around see whats there