looking for a certain book -
04-11-2006, 03:57 PM
hello people:)
This is a long shot kweli but i'm looking for a book i read when i was about 13 whose title i have sadly forgotten. It was a book on short stories from East Africa or something along those lines (the title is what i seek). It had many tribal stories (myths, legends,creations,ogres etc) from different Ea tribes. I have read many books like this but none of them was it. There is however one story that stood out for me because it is rarely found in other african myth books. Its a bit morbid but not so much as i only remember a bit of it--anyway the story is basically a "how man became a canibal" very very short story and in it basically the ka man (who was travelling aka taking a long journey) gets lost, hungry and stumbles across small piece of meat in the forrest which he mistakes for rabbit meat. He eats it and is so hooked, he spends a long time tryna figure out what it was. In the end when he nyitas its was human flesh, he basically goes canibbal. A bit morbid but by any chance does anyone know the title of this book?
RE: looking for a certain book -
04-11-2006, 04:57 PM
sorry I can't help but I too have a similar predicament. I read a book that was about a boy who was brought up in a whore house run by a mulatto woman that turned out not to be his natural mom. The boy had some white in him but was arabic. He also had blonde locks. Anyway, he ends up rescuing some young kid from some thugs. The kid turns out to be a prince from Marakech. So they become friends. The blond kid converts to Islam and they are tought by the Imams at the palace. However one day they get armbushed and separated. The prince escapes but the boy is captured. He is then tortured, enslaved, and finally run through the Spanish inquisition because they believe he is also a prince. As punisment, they tattoo his torso with the Jesus nailed to the cross and throw him to the streets. He somehow makes it back home to the prince and has to live with the infidel on his chest. At this time the prince is about to marry some girl. The girl is the daughter of one of the Imams who taught the two. The boy ends up catching a glipse of the girl and she is the most beautiful girl he's ever seen. They are both smitten. Anyway, the prince ends up dying from a fight and the boy somehow manipulates the king to allow him to marry the girl. So they get married. On the wedding night, he is so overcome with desire that he flings his shirt off only to see the girl recoil!!! So he explains the tattoo but she tells him that she is recoiling out of respect because that is her savior JC!!!
This book was about 700 pages long and I wish I could remember the name. It had multiple facets with stories touching on the slave life, homosexuality, harems etc!
04-14-2006, 03:01 PM
lol Okwang i have become almost obsessed with finding this book. I visited this section some time back and even agonised over whether or not to ask simply because i did not want to find out that no one could help!:D Oh well:(
Unfortunately, i don't know the book you seek either:( but that saga was very interesting. Yaani you've told me the whole story so maybe someone will remember the title. It reminds me of another book i once read kinda similar to that one only this dude is a pointi slave who manages to rise from slavery and be passed off as white. I was quite young when read this one as well. Anyhoo , he is the white mistresses sex slave which basically ment he'd come into the house pretending to 'fix' stuff and she'd expected him to please her which he did on the DL off course. To her credit, she really cared even kinda loved the dude even if she was much lder than him. Anyhoo somehow they hatch a plan to 'pass' him off as white. With her help he escapes that plantation, hides out and re-emerges as this white man.Before he leaves, he hooks the white chicka up with a new 15yr old toy boy the only requirement having been that the ka-kid was hung.Anyway our man re-emerges white but for one thing. Ama tell you in a minute;). Anyway he ends up becoming this respectable white dude and falls in love with this white upper class southern belle. So get this, the dude has always looked white apart form his back, which along with welts from whippings, is much much darker than the rest of his body. So what does he do? HE NEVER TAKES OFF HIS SHIRT. Come rain or intense southern heat, that shirt never comes off infront of anyone. On his wedding night, actually i think he'd slept with her prior so it was actually just one night (lakini they are still honeymooners) the chick notices that he never takes off his shirt even in bed ******** her. So after one of those rounds, the dude is passed out and like any normal new wife, she wants to 'gaze' at her man's naked body bila anything. So she takes off his shirt , sees his back and screams!!! Lmao them white boys rushed into the room expecting danger and boy were they pizzzzzzzzed to find this 'n*gger' fooled em all and married lily. Poor dude:(, he was dragged out, whipped and shipped back to old platation. So the 15yr old gets kicked out and he resumes his relationship with his former mistress as a slave once again. What was also sad and ironic, is while all the white boys are apologetic towards the white wife, in her mind is a secret she must keep--she was madly in love with him and regreted her screams--she had actually screamed out of shock and surprise but she loved him deeply and had he told her, she would have kept his secret. A bit tragic lmao. The whole story was soo strange.Wierd ass story.
I think the book that you would like though is River God by Wilbur smith. Seeing how you liked the twists in that book you are looking for, i think you'll really really like this title. Excellent book though i hate all his other work.Try it:)
04-18-2006, 11:08 PM
@Nefertiti,
Kwanza let me apologise for not responding promptly. Mashada has somehow lost its luster and the posts have degenerated to insults ...First things first. I already read River god along with almost all of Wilbur Smith's books. I did this when I was back in high school. He's a great write who has done Africa proud. Manze the guy can trasport you to places in Africa you wish you would visit. Why oh why don't we have $50 intra continental flights in Africa? God I really would like to visit some of this places. Secondly, the book you discribed is my type of book. That sounds like a very interesting plot. Yaah that other book I was narrating; it was filled with all soughts of sexcapeds. That Blond boy had a slave called Ramon who really protected him. And when they visited other kingdoms, they would be offered girls and even boys for their beds! I mean homosexuality was just as acceptable as anything else. I remember one scene very vividly. Ramon had gone somewhere I don't remember, and the blond boy was traveling with another slave called Juane. Juane was very pretty and feminine like. So when they stopped for the night, Juane fixed blond boy a pot of spiced tea, fixed his bath and once blond boy was done; asked his master if he could also take a bath. So the master said fine. Anyway, Juane takes a bath, perfumes his pretty lill behind and insists on sleeping at the foot of his master's divan. So the master has been smoking weed and he says (and I remember) " if it will make you happy". So Juane proceeds to belly dance for his master (Juane had a crash on his master). Finanly, as the master is falling asleep, Juane snaggles up close to him and tries to kiss him! So the master responds in his drunken haze but realises that it is Juane. Maze he pushes him off the bed, reaches for the whip and whips Juane within an inch of his life! He finanly stops and tells him, " what have i done???" Anyway, he was very remorseful because Juane had only persued his desires. After a lot of wise saying, the master asked Juane to whip him but Juane declined saying that he loved him.
Point being that this book was so good on so many levels. I think our biggest predicament is that we read books that were probably published by in Europe and America being what it is - we might as well be living in an island! They are so clueless! I wish to God I would have written down the name of this book but at the time I was reading like 3 books a month, what with no tv worth watching and all!
Cheers
Ps. Here is a book that I know you would enjoy and you can find it in USA! "The Caine Mutiny" by Herman Wouk. Check it out at http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/031...lance&n=283155
04-19-2006, 12:37 PM
Lol sorry guys that was my post. I'll appreciate ur help.
04-23-2006, 02:12 PM
>I am also looking for this book, it was a setbook in 2000. I
>think the title went something like 'the rainmaker...."
>something like that. The story is about this botswanian family
>that was experiencing drought that the father gave his own
>daughter as a sacrifice to appeace the gods. He was later
>jailed by the colonial govt for murder.
>Anyone remember the title of that book?
I think the book you're referring to is "Looking For a Rain God" .The Rain maker is one of the many stories.I hope its the book you're looking for....
04-23-2006, 02:26 PM
>>I am also looking for this book, it was a setbook in 2000. I
>>think the title went something like 'the rainmaker...."
>>something like that. The story is about this botswanian
>family
>>that was experiencing drought that the father gave his own
>>daughter as a sacrifice to appeace the gods. He was later
>>jailed by the colonial govt for murder.
>>Anyone remember the title of that book?
>I think the book you're referring to is "Looking For a Rain
>God" .The Rain maker is one of the many stories.I hope its the
>book you're looking for....
Thanks alot CB. that is the book! :D :D. Aaaah I tell u I've been looking for this book.