Go Back   Mashada Forums > Music & Entertainment > Books > Harry Potter mania

Anjelika is on a distinguished road

Default thanks guys - 11-14-2007, 02:57 AM

I am just nearing the end of six, and am jumping on to seven immediately. No way I am not going to be part of the exciting discussion about 6 & 7. But thanx guys for your support.

Cinoman, hope this will not mean ati you won't keep me company as I read the last one

cinoman is on a distinguished road

Default 11-14-2007, 01:00 PM

Nope, I'm still gonna be here.

Default 11-15-2007, 01:53 AM

oh....

I had forgotten how Harmione and Ron just tickle my insides. The way Harmione is always freaking out about her marks, and then ron goes like, "are you actually disappointed?" This is after H learns that she had recieved 11 Outstandings and only one Exceeding expectation in portions. So Ron, who of course hasnt recieved a single O, goes like, kwani you really are disappointed? I laughed out loud. don't ask where in the book I am, but am dedicated to finishing it by the weekend.

Oh, I 'heard' someone say sth about snape and the way they were surprised at his goodness. You know, ever since philosopher's stone when he saved Harry, I was sold to him forever. He's mean but he is HOT (the movie version of him at least). Plus, I always liked his cool. I think being a transcient character like that, occupying two worlds of good and bad gives him a certain undeniable edge.

anyway, enuff said. Have loads to do today. Thanks Cino...

Default 11-15-2007, 12:57 PM

I don't know, but Snape...hmm?!?! I really don't know what to think. It's something that I got tired of guessing if he was good or bad between books 1 to 4. In terms of grades, I feel Ron and his lack of caring attitude. Hermione makes me laugh too with the disappointment of such (high) marks. I have too many friends like her.

Default Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr - 12-02-2007, 03:56 AM

Hey guys, finally finished the famous books

Cant believe Snape in six, and am equally angry at Dumbledore for just dying fwaaa like that. Ok, confession, am on page 300 of the last one, will be done by kesho. But man, can you believe the violence of seven! Plus, I think Rowling is adding way too many new things! Yaani she believes all her readers are Harry Potter's age! Believe me, I know more eight year olds who read these books than grown-ups! But who am I to make noise. I still think though, that she has not lost the magic.

Now, six: Didnt you guys find the ending a little contrived? there we are, lulling into a comfortable rhythm of Hogwarts, with Voldemort and Draco Malfoy out of the way, and the only tension being whether or not Harry would kiss Ginny, and then wham! page 500, and Dumbledore is finally letting Harry into his plot and all hell breaks lose! Plus I just thought it was all too rushed! she should at least have prepared us for Snape! I did love the guy you know!

Well, am still in the place where Ron has left kina harry and gone back to the burrow (I hope!) and everything is just confused, with the dark lord trying to catch undesirable number one.

Dont you guys see the resemblance of this to an African dictatorial state? You know, with all the sychophancy, etc? How for instance, does one explain the coup, and the Ministry of Magic being overthrown? The texture of the book has just changed for me, and Voldemort just suddenly seems normal again. I suppose Rowling ran out of creative steam at a point. But its still an entertaining ending. let me run through the remaining pages.

Default 12-03-2007, 12:20 PM

Hah! Good to see you've gone so far. As for the books, I think that she was trying to bring readers to D's death in book six by focusing so much on him and Harry's times together. Honestly, even if I hadn't known he would die, all the attention lavished on him was pretty hard to miss. I didn't think about it in a political way...hmm, I'll have to get back to you on that one.

Default Finished Potter seven - 12-04-2007, 02:27 AM

Oh my gully! that was a violent ride i just took down potter seven. me, by the time Harry was dying (scene in the Forest), i was like i cant take it. But Rowling was gentle, made us (readers) feel all was not lost...

Oh, the books are definitely political. The revolution in the end is so much a marxist stunt, all the previously powerless rising up against the few strong evil leaders...reminds me of Ngugi's Devil on the Cross. or lenin. It stinks of marxism anyway

But it was all good. and to think Snape wasnt bad after all, just selfish...surely someone should have let us in on the drama. but urck! its over now

Cinoman, have you tried to read beyond the potter series?

Default 12-04-2007, 03:32 AM

I am suffering from post-harry potter depression!

Default 12-04-2007, 01:49 PM

Read beyond? I don't understand...

Default 12-05-2007, 03:22 AM

sorry, meant have you read other books connected to Harry Potter? anything? or how did you manage to get over the potter blues. I am seriously craving a book eight. but yeah, i guess I have got to let it go...