Go Back   Mashada Forums > Music & Entertainment > Books > Why I think Kwani02 will be a flop

mimie

Default RE: nEW READS.. - 07-28-2004, 09:19 AM

48 laws of power? Dee Dee, is patni getting into our heads now? that sounds....eeeck! lawyerish.

but hey, Kwani cannot be on the stands. stupid peopel are selling it for ksh.600. which layman can buy it at that price when they could use the same money to buy several pieces of mitumba as well as mbogas for a week or more. No wonder it can only be obtained upon request. kwanza i need to bomb someone on this distribution tak tak...

mimie

Default RE: Why I think Kwani02 will be a flop - 07-28-2004, 09:25 AM

no, Jib. Oprah book club can be quite inspiring. guess what other book av caught them reviewing? One hundred years of Solitude by Gabriel Marquez. 100 was a nice book, quite inspiring in terms of trend setting the magical realism world.

and anna k can't be that bad. after all its a classic alongside war and peace which though longish, i also found quite inspiring. so be patient...

meantime i have just had a look at the site you referred me too. trying to find my way around but will fill you in on what cuts

FeeloSoFar

Default RE: Why I think Kwani02 will be a flop - 07-29-2004, 01:43 AM

Its funny how we are all quick to say that kwani02 will be a flop.Anyone with any inside info to support that????Let me 1st of all make it clear that I do not want to be seen as some kind of crusader for kwani because i am not.But we must give the devil his due.
Kwani have tried.They are still trying,for all i know.I have had the pleasure of asking Binyavanga why he started kwani and why some of the stories are either 'fek' or plain long and boring('mayors parlah' and 'Speak Kingoso Please' in kwani?01).Kwani is not about getting the best to write,its about getting people to write.Sure,the majority are rather 'fek',i mean, who wants to read really bad english about a guy who was dominated by a fat white woman?Ama in kwani?02, the Mashifta piece with really bad editing(...please remind me,why did i buy kwani?02??)but atleast people are speaking.How else shall you sift through the the chaff to finally get to the wheat?Each kwani? edition has like 20 stories and from each,one has risen to be a finalist or to win Africa's biggest writing prize.Not too bad for a magazine that is 7 months old,if you ask me.
The poetry is ####ty-apart from Muthony wa Gatumu's.There is a bias for Andia Kisia..but she wins BBC writing prizes like everyday,so when she speaks who does not want to listen?
All i am saying is we all have bile against something we do not fully comprehend.If i may use a byline from a really stupid Steven Seagal movie "Assumption is the mother of all F@*k ups"(forgive me bwana administrator,I just need to prove a point) and also, we have all this to say yet none of us has appeared in a kwani? to be criticised!
Thats all.

Default RE: Why I think Kwani02 will be a flop - 07-31-2004, 09:32 AM

While I fully support a Neo-Kenyan Literary age, I must admit that I Kwani needs to keep its fans replenished and ever rejuvenated with more fresh writing. There is a lot of talent in Kenya. Kwani magazine should be made affordable for the common wananchi, hence increasing its audience. The online version needs frequent updates. This may be a costly requirement but it will pay in the long run.

OMG! I feel alive again. I think I will grace the open mics on Tuesday with some new stuff. I have been blessed with awe and inspiration this morning. I'm listening to Bossa Nova music on Radio@aol. The smoothest melodies are being woven like a majestical Kente cloth. Khalil Gibran fan's, I have discovered the story 'History and the Nation, a beautifully executed story about Syria. I'm still marvelling at the second last paragraph:

"Oh Syria, that which you call degradation is an indispensable sleep from which you will draw strength. The flower does not return to life save through death, and love does not grow except after separation."

http://www.arab2.com/gibran/f/history-nation.htm

mimie

Default RE: Gibran - 08-01-2004, 10:20 AM

I met Gibran and fell in love with his words. They are deep and he has advice on almost everything.

mimie

Default RE: Gibran - 08-01-2004, 10:21 AM

More like words bow down to him. he's writings are beautiful. serene almost. and he is so wise.