recommendation -
12-01-2003, 10:35 AM
anybody read a good book that they can recommend?
fiction only please, thanks.
RE: recommendation -
12-01-2003, 11:06 AM
Do u soma Jackie Collins?...LOL..shes a filthy mama,but i'm reading the latest one "Hollywood Divorces",not as good as her earlier ones,but its worth a read....this long winter nights have given me syke to read anything that comes across my way!...*brrrr*
Plus some random Mills and Boons historical romances..hehehe...if only to renew my faith in the whole "love conquers all" concept..nothing else...LOL
12-01-2003, 11:11 AM
I have read a couple of good books this year:
1.The Langston Hughes Reader by Langston Hughes
2.Girl with a Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier ( I was interested in this book cos i wanted to jua a little more about Dutch painter Vermeer's life and his inspirations)
3. Uncle Tom's Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe
4. In the Floyd Archives: A Psycho-Bestiary by Sarah Boxer
5. African Ceremonies by Carol Beckwith and Angela Fisher
6. The Myth of the Negro Past by Melville J. Herskovits
7. The Royal Arts of Africa: The Majesty of Form by Suzanne Preston Blier (In this book, u will see rare African art and u will read about how explorers destroyed Sacred Indigenous African Art).
Let me know when u are done with these books so that we can discuss them.
12-02-2003, 04:30 AM
lale - jackie collins huh? i suppose that could be a way to keep the cold out....
lakini the best is mills and boon, those books remind me of form one when mrs. mukiri was going on about spyrophyta being under sijui what classification of the animal kingdom.... i would be engrossed in "he looked at her heaving bosom and felt a stirring in his member..." hehehehehe, are they still the same???
Jibril - most of your books sound autobiographical or historical and unfortunately i cannot bear them, they drive me to sleep... lakini i'll try the tracy chevalier book and we can discuss that one...
keep em coming, please
12-02-2003, 06:21 AM
Read Philip Roth . He is in my opinion, the best writer in the world.
Try "American pastoral", which is a great Amerivan novel .
For pageturning, "Birdsong" by Sebastian Faulks is very good.
John Irving has an overactive imagination, 'A prayer for Owen Meany' is an outrageous' book and it is very good.
12-02-2003, 04:01 PM
thanks timmys. i've been meaning to read sebastian faulks for a long while now so this should move me off my arse and get me reading.
phillip roth.... does he write horror/thrillers??
12-04-2003, 06:21 AM
ta thierry, noted!
12-05-2003, 01:30 AM
Heathcliff:
Try
1.'Second Skin' by John Hawkes
2.'Oliver's Story' by Erich Segal
3.'Bonesetter's daughter by Amy Tan
4. 'Clear and Present Danger' Tom Clancy
All these books are fiction and a good read, I believe.
12-05-2003, 01:59 AM
Let me include another book: 'Among Others' by Lois Griffith. It is a love story with a political twist that will jolt your senses.
12-05-2003, 04:11 PM
cool, thanks jibril...