Go Back   Mashada Forums » Sports & Recreation » Athletics

Old 12th October 2009, 08:02 AM

Default Wanjiru Shines in Chicago    Show Printable Version  Print   Email this Page  Email  

Kenya's Wanjiru bags Sh70m with Chicago record

breaking news, kenya, africa, politics, business, sports, blogs, photos, videos- kenya's wanjiru bags sh70m with chicago record

Sammy Wanjiru of Kenya reacts as he crosses the finish line to win the chicago marathon october 11, 2009. By winning sunday’s race, wanjiru topped the lucrative, five-race, world marathon majors series which comes with a jackpot prize of sh38 million ($500,000).

A huge congrats to wanjiru! keep it up. But as we said earlier on, the void on the women's side bado iko. Look at the European scooping it all.

Last edited by Wantai; 12th October 2009 at 08:09 AM.
Old 12th October 2009, 01:25 PM

Native Son. is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Wantai View Post
Kenya's Wanjiru bags Sh70m with Chicago record

breaking news, kenya, africa, politics, business, sports, blogs, photos, videos- kenya's wanjiru bags sh70m with chicago record

Sammy Wanjiru of Kenya reacts as he crosses the finish line to win the chicago marathon october 11, 2009. By winning sunday’s race, wanjiru topped the lucrative, five-race, world marathon majors series which comes with a jackpot prize of sh38 million ($500,000).

A huge congrats to wanjiru! keep it up. But as we said earlier on, the void on the women's side bado iko. Look at the European scooping it all.

Sasa WAntai?

Yup, the boy did it. This guy is the real deal. This guy has so much money yet he's only 22. How dare he? I think he's without a doubt the second best marathoner after Gebrsellasie but the world needs to see them race together. We've won several Chicago marathons in a row mpaka I've lost count. Chicago ni yetu.

Yes, the women are not doing a great jobo. Ethiopia has better marathoners than us and Catherine is now old. She might do London in 2012 before hanging her spikes. We need new talent.

Wantai, I've been kidogo disrupted by the world cup qualifiers. We still haven't qualified and I have a lot of wasi wasi but with God's help, we will.
Old 14th October 2009, 02:06 AM

Sasa NS, I am good! Tuko pamoja...pia mi I keep watching the WC qualifiers whenever I can. The other day I saw your boy Messi in action against Chile. I tell you he'z super talented but Maradona didn't give him the support he needed. The task left for him hapo right wing is just too great for someone so good bila the necessary back up for goals. It's a waste. They eventually beat Chile who played a super defence match. Kwani Tevez is injured? He did not play. Watching that match took me back 4 years and I remembered how good the Argentinian team was then and I just couldn't believe when they were out...I mean, times have changed. Maradona's face remains listless, hana expression, huyo bado anakula dawa.Should have seen him goal celebrating.

Wanjiru is definately going places, kudos to him. It's a shame that no one saw the ladies marathoner void coming. Ndereba amechoka now. If she comes for 2012 i'll go to London and shangilia her and say hello. BTW, I still have some photos from 2003 juniour championships which I took with akina Jepkosgei, Bungei and some other then juniours...a treasure. That was the same year Bolt came into light as a juniour...didn't take one with him, just the Kenyan delegation.
Old 15th October 2009, 02:36 AM

Originally Posted by Wantai View Post
Sasa NS, I am good! Tuko pamoja...pia mi I keep watching the WC qualifiers whenever I can. The other day I saw your boy Messi in action against Chile. I tell you he'z super talented but Maradona didn't give him the support he needed. The task left for him hapo right wing is just too great for someone so good bila the necessary back up for goals. It's a waste. They eventually beat Chile who played a super defence match. Kwani Tevez is injured? He did not play. Watching that match took me back 4 years and I remembered how good the Argentinian team was then and I just couldn't believe when they were out...I mean, times have changed. Maradona's face remains listless, hana expression, huyo bado anakula dawa.Should have seen him goal celebrating.

Wanjiru is definately going places, kudos to him. It's a shame that no one saw the ladies marathoner void coming. Ndereba amechoka now. If she comes for 2012 i'll go to London and shangilia her and say hello. BTW, I still have some photos from 2003 juniour championships which I took with akina Jepkosgei, Bungei and some other then juniours...a treasure. That was the same year Bolt came into light as a juniour...didn't take one with him, just the Kenyan delegation.

Huaaah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wantai!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We done it, we done it!!!!!!!!!!!!

Argentina!!!!!!

Vamos ARgentina!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pole, I know that this is a running thread lakini I couldn't help it.

A guy I had only known by name, Mario Bolatti tucked in a cool shot for a goal and we sailed through. Actually, we only needed a draw on condition that Chile beat Ecuador which they did.

Now, Uruguay faces I think Costa Rica for the final (fifth) spot in South America. Costa Rica is fighting for the final (fourth) spot in the CONCACAF. Whoever wins goes to SA 2010.

Whoever loses watches the WC on the big screen in the comfort of his/her house.

Maze we need to fire El Diego. The guy has been reduced to gliding on his fat belly after a goal.

This is the team that stunned the world under Jose Pekerman in 2006. NOw, they can't even string five complete passes without losing the ball.

Back to Mbios.

Wanjiru was barred/prevented from running the Berlin Marathon. Sijui whether they were trying to protect Haile ama they didn't have enough money to pay these two guys.

Lucky you. Yani you have a photo with our super stars?

The day you find them missing from your drawers/Album, look no further. Nitaziiba. Ha ha ha!

Heko kwako.

No,

Tevez isn't injured. HIs place was taken by Gonzalo Higuain. At least he played today for only five minutes. He subbed Leo Messi.

Haki someone needs to rid us of this drug boy. He has destroyed Messi's confidence when playing for ARgentina.

HEbu wait and see how LEo will shine for Barca this weekend.

I hope they'd bring Pekerman back. This is the man who was the artichect of that team that stringed together that 24 pass goal against Serbia & Mont.

When that goal went in, I stood and raised my hands. Where are those happy days? They seem so hard to find (to quote the Abba group).

Hata Maradona's son in law, Aguero hasn't played the last two games.

HE's been subbed by Angel Di Maria (a phenomenon). This kid is amazing at only 21.

Last edited by Native Son.; 15th October 2009 at 03:02 AM.
Old 15th October 2009, 02:52 AM

This jamaa is very brave to run in frosty weather! Huku nyumbani nimeshinda na sweater, socks na blanketi ya rivatex until my landlord aweke joto next week! Na baridi eti baado! I sympathize with the Canadians....hiyo winter frigidity!

But I'm happy for Sammy.

The Americans na wivu yao only reported Sammy showboating n nearly missing the bonus $100k.

Chicago Marathon: Champ Samuel Wanjiru nearly waved $100,000 bonus goodbye -- chicagotribune.com
Old 15th October 2009, 03:06 AM

Originally Posted by Jibril Cessay View Post
This jamaa is very brave to run in frosty weather! Huku nyumbani nimeshinda na sweater, socks na blanketi ya rivatex until my landlord aweke joto next week! Na baridi eti baado! I sympathize with the Canadians....hiyo winter frigidity!

But I'm happy for Sammy.

The Americans na wivu yao only reported Sammy showboating n nearly missing the bonus $100k.

Chicago Marathon: Champ Samuel Wanjiru nearly waved $100,000 bonus goodbye -- chicagotribune.com

Jibril,

Yeah, I read somewhere that Kamau didn't even know that he was almost breaking (or losing) the course record as he ran the final 400m waving at the crowd. That was close!

One second slower and he'd have lost 7.6m shillings.

This guy is raking in money like Kenya revenue.

Yeah! Winter is here. No wonder I miss home.

chicago, shines, wanjiru