Go Back   Mashada Forums > Travel & Places > Around Kenya > Going Back 2 kenya after 8yrs

Kangeta

Default Going Back 2 kenya after 8yrs - 09-18-2004, 08:32 AM

I've thought about it, and thought about. So, am going back to Kenya after 8 good years in the US. Although I have Kenyan contacts, and my account dosen't look so bad, I dunno what to bring. I hear these days you can buy most of the stuff you see here at the Nakumatt in Nairobi. Halafu I hear, the luggage weight limit on most airlines has dropped to lb.40, from the usual lb.64. I guess there goes my comp, and other tech stuff. I could courior most of my stuff, but I hear, I'd be charged import duty once I get to Nairobi.

I've spent a little time at the mall looking around, and am not sure what to bring. Anyone got ideas?

Whats your experience?

SirViKtor

Default RE: Going Back 2 kenya after 8yrs - 09-18-2004, 03:14 PM

Travel light and buy things at ky, pass electronics as hand luggage. be careful once in nrb as guys from abroad are considered high value targets by thugs. be prepared for some culture shock since things have changed after u left. try virgin airlines and emirates as they have good fares.leave the tweng here.

http://www.mashada.com/photos/data/500/109559keny.gif?

discussion is an exchange of knowledge; argument, an exchange of ignorance.

Simbi-Nyaima

Default RE: Going Back 2 kenya after 8yrs - 09-20-2004, 11:07 AM

Alot of chaps dont know about this, but as a returning citizen, you are allowed to clear your goods without paying a single cent in import duty/VAT -including a car!.To qualify for this, you must have been outside kenya for at least 3 years, and of course your passport will indicate your last exit/entry into Kenya.

This is just telling you that you can courier your stuff -and taxes do not have to be a problem

Wishing you well in Kenya though

kukumanga

Default RE: Going Back 2 kenya after 8yrs - 09-21-2004, 05:10 AM

You can take back all the stuff you want as personal effects. there are no tax charges for returning residents. Unfortunately you wont be able to take back your car as they no longer register left hand dive vehicles in Kenya. You'll be able to afford a used Japanese import immeditely on your arrival b4 u decide on what car to buy. When am going home on long vacation -4 weeks or more, I just buy one of these which I used and sell (some time I got a good profit kitu $600) on departure.

If you use Emirates, you may as well shop in Dubai. There's plenty of cheap stuff there.

Kuku

Send a message via ICQ to 25559 Send a message via AIM to 25559
Default Werocomu - 09-22-2004, 01:42 AM

nims*

well first and foremost i must say a big karibu. now you can
basically find all things in the shops as in electronics and all esp in nairibi. they are plenty of people doing these business around so i dont see why you should carry excess baggage.
on other stuff like food you can find literally get anything here
(bear in mind ) kenya is the dumping ground so utapata yote and after all
"chakula cha hapa".... tamu sana.
piece of advice? pse pse be very careful when you come back here pple are all ears coz i dont know how the hell they know one is from "majuu" but we kenyans?.... we never seize amaze!anyway you will definately find a big diffrence there are some positives and negatives but all in all theres no place like home.
am a honey lakini tafadhali watch out for honeyz they come in
all sizes, shapes and modes so chunga watch out....mambo mbaya siku hizi.
wish you all the best as you come back and God bless, :)

alexa

Default RE: keep it up - 09-28-2004, 11:55 AM

well first good job east west home is the best.customs never ask citizen about their laggage and baggage.i do not know about a car, but in kenya cars are cheap but the just get worn out fast due to poor roads.

froggy

Default RE: Going Back 2 kenya after 8yrs - 09-30-2004, 11:52 PM

bring a gun...or at least an aluminum bat

It takes only one drink to get me drunk. The trouble is, I can't remember if it's the thirteenth or the fourteenth.-
George Burns
mtaveta

Default RE: Going Back 2 kenya after 8yrs WHATS GOING ON HERE?? - 10-30-2004, 02:18 AM

AM JUST CURIOUS WHY YOU ALL HEADING BACK TO KENYA FROM THE U.S.A? WHATS GOING ON IN THE U.S,CAN ANYONE OUT THERE BE HONEST AND TELL US WHAT ARE THE FACTS ON HAND WHY ARE PEOPLE LEAVING THE U.S?IS IT VOLUNTARY DEPATURE OR??? WAZEE TEXAS TUELEZEANE UKWELI JO!!

jino moja mswaki wa nini??
kitui

Default RE: Going Back 2 kenya after 8yrs WHATS GOING ON HERE?? - 12-13-2004, 04:19 PM

does this also apply to those living here and want to send stuff home? i mean i will not be accompanying the stuff to be sent home, so will i still get the tax breaks. i am considering sending stuff we have accumulated like clothes, shoes, books, no electronics, send this stuff to people who will need it instead of trashing it out here!

Matumbo

Default RE: Going Back 2 kenya after 8yrs WHATS GOING ON HERE?? - 10-25-2006, 12:53 PM

best of luck dude i think that it will be reverse culture shock, i havent been back in like 17 years and am planing my first visit next year in the summer..