Go Back   Mashada Forums » Travel & Places » Around Kenya

Old 21st October 2001, 09:35 PM

honeyball
Default any one from ukambani or Eastern Kenya ?    Show Printable Version  Print   Email this Page  Email  

Tafdhali Wakanya... does anyone know about this ka-small hill in Eastern Kenya where water flows up the hill and cars do not have to be cranked to go uop that ka-hil?
I think it was faetured on KTN's Sunday faeture sometime ago.What do you think is the reason behind this phenomenon
Old 24th January 2002, 11:33 AM

kinoki
Default RE: any one from ukambani or Eastern Kenya ?

i just got back form kenya in mid jan. sometime in mid dec i took the road from Machakos Town to wards Kangundo for a leisure drive. Since I enjoy giving rides to local villagers, i met with this mzee who stunk of the prevoius nites karubu and tobacco. He told me that amazing story of a portion of road where matatus did not need to accelerate and water flaw was uphill. Intrigued i decided i had to see it for my self.

5 minutes later we hit the curve, sure it looked like at had a 20 degree slope but it was really an optical illusion if you ask me. i put the vehicle on "free" and it rolled backas expected.

later i related this story to my childhood friend who i knew had an affinity for science and odd academic questions. He said he had plotted the slope on the road plus tested it to see if there was a magnetic field. All amounted to zilch!

It seemed to me that the villagers were convinced of the existance of "something" by frequent visits by hoardes of wahindi from Nbi and other city dwellers.

I believe there is nothing bizzare happening here.the local herds boys are doing pretty darn well, they charged me 10 shillings to run down to the river and fetch water to test their claim. not a bad days work!

Old 24th January 2002, 12:15 PM

y5next
Default RE: any one from ukambani or Eastern Kenya ?

> Tafdhali Wakanya... does anyone know about this ka-small hill in Eastern Kenya where water flows up the hill

Nanii, you must have missed a science class or two. Ever heard of gravity?

>..and cars do not have to be cranked to go uop that ka-hil?

???? 'shplain this one, mi no comprende...

Seriously though, I'd take such claims with more than just a pinch of salt...

Seems more the stuff of tabloid journalism than anything else!!!

eastern, ukambani