Go Back   Mashada Forums » Travel & Places » Abroad

Old 16th February 2003, 05:38 PM

york
Default WHAT KENYAN STUDENTS IN US R NOT TELLING YAH    Show Printable Version  Print   Email this Page  Email  

Lol...have u guys read the E.A Standard for today (monday in the Big Issue mag).
The link is:

http://eastandard.net/issue/Default.htm
(i will update the link later).

Although most seems to be true but i don't think posting such a sensitive thang on the newspaper was aaight.
Meen am like dayumn how dare these a ka-writer to expose us.......
Peace Y'all out n' take care coz things r going nutts.
Old 17th February 2003, 05:58 AM

lale
Default RE: WHAT KENYAN STUDENTS IN US R NOT TELLING YAH

Damn!!!..Just from somaing the article...quite shocking and really hard-hitting ,at the least people back home will know what the real deal is,lakini it was a bit one-sided,si they could have touched a bit more on the good stuff,you know..analysing equally on both sides of the coin?..all the same,i think it will really alter the image of kenyans abroad and also serve as a wake up call to paros who are still intent on sending their kids abroad,you know, make them think more harder and carefully on the pros and cons.

They should also do another one on kenyans here in the UK,if only to know whether we're more or less the same with our counterparts in the US.

Lakini that mambo of kenyans hukos uzaing each other bana!,aiii,didnt think it could be that bad,wow!
Old 17th February 2003, 08:47 AM

ZeroWeight

the writer(s) of the article deserve(s) a pat on the back. you should be happy that someone is making people at home understand the kind of problems you have to solve in order to get some peace in your minds in the first place. wacha masomo, that is another issue altogether.

some of you would rather see a different story. and this different story should reflect the glory of being in the west - no wonder you work for 5 years, save, fly home and rent yourselves new cars - cars you can not even afford wherever you are stationed at the moment. you know very well that your are cheating yourselves.

i hope people at home will understand the hardships faced out 'there' and refrain from dreaming about things which are not possible. this would give some of us lesser headaches. at the same time, anybody who undergoes all that and comes out having achieved the initial goal deserves our support.

kuingia ni rahisi lakini kutoka ngumu.
Old 17th February 2003, 04:37 PM

kina

Why shouldn't they have posted it? It's about time we practise our rights to know what's going on.

Kenyan students aspiring to come here should know that it's not all gold. Some of come here adn make it and some fall to hardships. It's the road you choose to pursue that should matter. Just because a Kenyan jamma meets you when you first arrive shoudln't make one think that he is your buddy. We each come as one and we shall return as so.

To the Kenyans back home;

Some of us choose education, the best to anyone who is trying to make it. we don't opt to buying big expensive cars, stereos, best clothes. No. Educate yourself with the best skills available today; and you could end up working anywhere in the world or from the comfort of your home. Eucation (graduate level in most fields) = freedom to choose your career = living in luxury

To the Kenyans who are mistreating fellow kenyans, shame on you.
Old 20th February 2003, 06:19 AM

isso is an unknown quantity at this point

@Lale....

Can't wait to read a UK version of the life abroad stories.....

I'm fully supportive of the publishing of such stories so that folk at home know what time of day it is....There's a lot of disillusion in Kenya about what the life abroad is and too many expectations.

Parents should indeed take note of what they're plunging their children into when unleashed to the world with just pocket money and parental love. Students still have to make ends meet regardless and most end up being bread winners for their families back home.

It would also be more interesting to get some more perspectives from Kenyans who aren't students so as to give people back home a broad view of what life is like out here.

"But do I have to sout about it?"
Old 20th February 2003, 05:08 PM

O_D_D is an unknown quantity at this point

This very well deserved to be publicized. What are we hiding? This shyt is happening right, left, and center. But folk at home just won't get it. Ever tried to tell your Uncle/Auntie/Cuzo not to send their kids to stato/brito? Manze that is when they strangely come to a conclusion that you are jealous, a hater, blah...blah...blah.

Life is hard, I still see guys who came here before me job-hopping and bila what they came to get. I'm not trying to say that getting the education and working at the same time is unsurmountable, rather be ready for the sacrifices that come along with it. The questions we should ask ourselves are, what happens if shyt hits the fan and you end up digz? Are you going to be in the job market? Are you with the times? Did you have enough savings? You going back to share Nacet with folk? e.t.c

Shyt!! Sometimes sacrifices have to be made. Some of us opted to ***k up our credit, just to get thru school. But it all pays in the end. Tolerance does and so does patience.
Old 26th February 2003, 07:13 AM

KenyanRoc

>@Lale....
>Can't wait to read a UK version of the life abroad
>stories.....
>I'm fully supportive of the publishing of such stories so that
>folk at home know what time of day it is....There's a lot of
>disillusion in Kenya about what the life abroad is and too
>many expectations.
>Parents should indeed take note of what they're plunging their
>children into when unleashed to the world with just pocket
>money and parental love. Students still have to make ends
>meet regardless and most end up being bread winners for their
>families back home.
>It would also be more interesting to get some more
>perspectives from Kenyans who aren't students so as to give
>people back home a broad view of what life is like out here.
>"But do I have to sout about it?"

ISSO .

The UK version will be really short.. They have either made it or they are on the doe (welfare) as asylums...talk about asylums what's gonna happen now that Kenya is stable politically??

hmm
Old 26th February 2003, 03:52 PM

mansamusa

True that ODD! I guess most people go to the Western world mostly for school. If you are thinking about school in the West, try to exploit the chances of getting into a public campo by any means neccessary before you send yourself or your kiddo to the US for school. This is because people rarely talk about the pain of going to the US for education such as high cost of living, high tuition rates, cultural differences etc.....
Sheila, I read one of your stories in africawired and you said that there was this girl Who was supposed to do Med in Kenya and because of believing the hype, she decided to rush to the US. 8 years down the road, she graduates with her first degree in biology or something related but sadly she was not able to pass her MCATs. The fact that she was called to do Med in Kenya shows that she is one of our academic giants but made the mistake of jumping into the bandwagon of flying to the West in haste.
I am not trying to discourage anybody coming here but way your options very carefully before rushing here. If you have a greencard, filthy rich, secure scholarship or your father stole money from Kenya, then this message does not apply to you. THINK BEFORE YOU LEAP because there are so many people here who are seeing stars after believing stories about streets lined with gold and silver. Some people have been able to achieve their dreams here after arriving here with nothing but not everyone is the same. Just because XYZ is a chemical engineer at NASA or something after coming to the US with only the clothes on his back does not guarantee that his brother or country mate will achieve the same.

Big up to Sheila, you are such a realist!
Old 27th February 2003, 05:57 PM

mansamusa

Sheila, this is mansamusa aka millitant. I have read so many of your articles and they are intelligent, informative and extremely well written. Peace!:)
Old 27th February 2003, 08:58 PM

SHEILA

Ohh thanx! :)
I used to post there a while ago I had even forgotten :)
By the way mansa..check your inbox ;)

http://www.smurf.com/infos/who/01smurf.gif

kenyan, students, telling, yah