Go Back   Mashada Forums > Travel & Places > Abroad > The International PRESS and AFRICA

pokot

Default RE: The International PRESS and AFRICA - 11-01-2002, 12:16 AM

a buddy of mine working with AP once told me that bad news sells..an exegaration of any political or civil strife in africa will qualify as a feature article in big journals. africa is prone to being depicted as poor, in chaos, with an exploding population,unstable govas, blah blah. all the ills.

a french paper once published an article of
"a bloody coup" in chad, when the soldiers were only celebrating some inter-regimental tournament.

Man R is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: The International PRESS and AFRICA - 11-01-2002, 01:44 AM

We cannot under estimate the power of the media. We are however, being screwed bigtime by the western media. I'm in the US media so believe me when I tell you there is no good agenda the western media has for Africa anytime soon.

As much as I agree that no country can survive in isolation, I also don't believe in this dependency culture or potrayal of Africans. I was reading a sociology book one time.This bullcrap book said ati average Africans have an IQ of 90 compared to Wazungu with 100 and Asians with 103. Yaani we built the pyramids, started christianity, downloaded the alphabet with such a low IQ!!? Matusi gani hii! We don't need the west. We need each other equally.

By the way its about time we stopped paying money to our colonial masters. For how long are we gonna be mugged? yaani these jamaaz stole stuff from us for five hundred years, and now we have been independent from them for less than fifty years and we have debt that surpasses what they took from us for free in half a millennium!!

Escuse the errors, I'm in a hurry.

Rage.

It takes extraordinary qualities of the negative type to reduce the 2002 euphoria to the despair we see today. -- James Orengo commenting on Prez Kibaki's poor leadership, corruption and tribalism.

Kibaki toka
WaKieni is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: The International PRESS and AFRICA - 11-01-2002, 10:15 AM

Jakanam, I’m a little confused here. Have you ever lived in Kenya?
…They had a vast number of the elderly people than the case is in Africa: … where, I mean you saw them.. on the streets, in hospitals etc, See our social structure is that a vast number of our elderly, shoo even the population in general , are in rural areas. If you walk in Kenyan cities and see no elderly, try visiting rural areas, You’ll catch them there by the fire and a pot of tea. (NB: there is a disparity in birth rates from the early 1900’s and late 1900’s which is very misleading, if you were to look at proportions if age groups in Africa, While Europeans states experienced little change to this.)
“…. The elderly population are people who know how to read and write unlike Africa…” What is the average age of the independent African state…. C’mon, what were the languages/means of communication used before we adopted the French’s and English and how did we pass them on. You are using foreign standards to harshly judge a society that is torn between traditional practices and imposed modern western culture. Are you blaming my grams for not being able to speak and write foreign language, bearing in mind that they passed theirs down orally??? Nways …Sounds like you’ve bought into their ways hook line and sinker. Your reference of “when i went to Europe.. my beloved country ” strikes me as odd.

Wonder then what Ma attitude to this is… Sheila got it. I don’t even bother explaining shyt to them!! “You dumb… too bad!!!”

chiqueafrique

Default RE: The International PRESS and AFRICA - 11-11-2002, 11:03 PM

Good Morning!!!