Go Back   Mashada Forums > Travel & Places > Abroad > Anyone mind answering this?

countryBoy

Default Anyone mind answering this? - 02-13-2002, 06:36 PM

I had a discussion with this white chic and a black dude and the white girl asked...how come there are different shades of black folks. Why are some lighter than the others.
Well the first answer out of the afro americans mouth was because of mixin with white folk durin slavery.

To some extent i do agree with that but then again i tell myself that there must be some other force behind it all. i dont think my great great people b4 white men were just one shade of black....

Anyone care to answer that or give their views on how to better answer that question next time?

MercedesK

Default RE: Anyone mind answering this? - 02-13-2002, 06:44 PM

Stupak and all the bio people..
does this have something to do with genetics? (okay, my terminology in biology is very faded but I will try)..
skin color is one of the phenotypes that is varied in array ( just like height). There are no definite genes that define skin color...e.g. X and Y for male versus female...
hence you get a whole range of skin colors ranging from pitch black to snow white.
Its just like height..
the adult human population as height ranges as follows..

0 ft -pigmies
0.00000000000000000000000000001 ft
0.0000000000000000018ft
1.23450 ft
4ft -short people
5ft - normal population
6ft -taller women and guys
7ft -basketballers
10 ft - giants

height is a continous function just like skin color

height = f(x) in simple terms
where x is any positive number

eeeh? I think im losing my argument
hope u get the gist

countryBoy

Default RE: Anyone mind answering this? - 02-13-2002, 06:47 PM

mercedes asante sana for ur explanation lakini umenichanganyisha kabisa ... :)

well actually i do kinda get ur drift lakini my question is how do u break that down to one simple answer in lay mans language.

Try tellin that to a country jungu hillbilly and they will be like....do u speak any english?

MercedesK

Default RE: Anyone mind answering this? - 02-13-2002, 06:59 PM

countryboy hehehe

an alternative explanation is the kids explanation..

One day god was tired of playing mummy daddy and decided to make toys. So he made boy toys and girl toys. Then another day he thought that he was tired of boy toys and girl toys. So he made black boy toys and white boy toys. He also made black girl toys and white girl toys. Then another day he got tired of black and white boy and girl toys. So he took the black boy toys and painted him with crayons. He played with blue crayons, black crayons, purple and red crayons. Then he made the red indians using the red crayons. When God was done playing with the toys he had all kinds of colors of people..

lol..i just made up that story its probably silly..
anyways I hope you find an explanation..

neema

Default RE: Anyone mind answering this? - 02-13-2002, 07:00 PM

country boy, why don't you ask them (white folk)why the banana is curved before you get a migrane trying to decode merc's biology :7

Vicki

Default RE: Anyone mind answering this? - 02-13-2002, 07:08 PM

Skin color variations are due to the difference in the amount of melanin one has, which is determined genetically. But there are other environmental factors that interfer and make this vary.

Monique

Default RE: Anyone mind answering this? - 02-13-2002, 07:16 PM

.......In the winter I am real light skinned and in the summer I tend to become darker!

Sadik is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: - 02-13-2002, 07:16 PM

Here, based on KCSE Biology.

The human skin has a protective shield, against UV rays from the sun. That shield is made out of protein based pigments, most of them being melanin.

In places where the sun is intense, the indigenous skin has higher melanin concentration leading to darker complexion. Example Sudan.

Less sun leads to no melanin, hence pale-white skin. Example Whites.

And in the middle strata we find the middle 'type' fairer complexion.

Note.

1. I have used indigenous, meaning people who have lived at a given place for a long time of period. { endomologicaly speaking, period = thousand of years. This is a derivative of eveolution}. This doesnot include migrants like you or me. You, as a migrant, are defined from where you come from, on the basis of your skin colouration.

2. Skin complexion can be infulences by parental type complexion. That is what Merc was trying to say by 'phenotypes'. Genetically, the child draws such things are skin colour from its parents. So a black/white couple will definetly have a chocolate child.

3. Skin genetic disorder called albino results in no melanin being produced, hence pale skin, hair, and iris.

If I were in your position, I would think seriously about sueing your school. They don't seems to have done anything 'tangible'. A piece of advice, next time you need answers to easy things like this, please consult an encylopedia.

Wakili is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: Anyone mind answering this? - 02-13-2002, 07:30 PM

I have no idea what the answer is. The thing that interests me is that the white lady asked a black person as though we as black people are the only ones who know anything and everything about race.

----------------------------------
I am too blessed to be stressed

Sadik is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: Anyone mind answering this? - 02-13-2002, 07:52 PM

Vicki,

Melanin is produced by melanocyte - melanin producing cells in the skin. This mecahnism is triggered by a hormone - called melatonin, secreted by by the pineal gland. This a physiological process, not genetical.