Go Back   Mashada Forums > Travel & Places > Abroad > 52 REASONS WHY I LOVE KENYA

Kiratu

Default 52 REASONS WHY I LOVE KENYA - 11-07-2001, 08:27 PM

1. It the country of my ancestors.
2. I was born there and will be buried there.
3. My grand-father fought for its independence.
4. I was educated there. Has the best 8-4-4 system in the world. (Learning under the Tree)yet you can buy certificates or degrees from luthuli Avenue. Some schools and colleges are located above pubs.
5. There is no curfew on beer drinking, no age restriction either. In fact it has the most delicious Roasted Nyam Chom in the whole World.
You can get the best Mitura's, at "Bama"
6. You work 8am to 5pm Monday thru friday in a week
7. You can get your drivers licence without ever taking a driving Test.
8. You tip the Police when they arrest you with DWI
9. University students can riot just a week before exams and have 1 year of holiday at home to prepare for the exam.
10. Eating Pizza is termed highlife.
11. Anyone can drive a BMW or Benz.
12. It has the Most beautiful Women in the world, and they really know how to dress.
13. For a Hook up you only need to visit Koinange street or Majengo slum.
14. Hot Tea is compulsary every Morning and at 4 pm in the afternoon
15. There is no difference between graduates and forth form leavers, they all have to tarmac to get a job.
16. Matatus have to play Music for one to board them.
17. The only country that people fear rain. You can spot thousand of Umbrellas even when its drizziling.
18. Wednesday is Ladies Night and Friday is Members day. No country can match that type of partying
19. You can land grab a school compound.
20. 10 bob will buy you lunch. (Githeri and Uji)
21. You can eat your chips standing or sitting.
22. It has 46 tribes.
26. There are no public toilet, one can just go anywhere even under a tree. (Men are best known for this)
27. Ugali is the staple food for everyone.
28. Its ruled by a standard 8 droup out.
29. Your things can be stolen while you are looking.
30. Cops take 24 hours to get to the incident scene. (They were waiting for fuel for their slow moving Mahindra)
31. You do not have to brush your teeth every morning. (A one shilling rosted Maize Cob can do it)
32. Showering is luxury because there is no water, you buy water 5 bob a gallon.
33. Street boys can threaten you with Human stool and you part with all your money.
34. Husbands are allowed to date and sleep with there Maids.
35. You can report to work at 8am drop your coat on the chair and return to pick it at 5pm and still get paid.
36. Police and teachers are the least paid professions.
37. You have to attend tuition to make it to a National school.
38. Aids is like a cold or flu.
39. You know your election results before Campaign starts. (Rigging is the order of the day)
40. It has an Open Air Mall (Gikomba) You can buy anything beside the road from clothes to food stuffs, cars, radios, TV's Tools, and furniture.
41. Its the best place on earth for a vacation. Imagine All those animals, Mombasa and Malindi Beach, the many parks....

42. You do not have to wait for a new gal to arrive in town to get a girlfriend. Infact guys there do not scrumble for gals, they are everywhere.
42. There are many Kenyans, including your parents and relatives. The best place to spend your chrismas holiday.
43. You do not have to worry about bills, your dad or mum takes care of them
44. You can party with 40 Bob (Just drink Kumi-Kumi)
45. You can swim or fish on the road (Big Pot holes)
46. Mobile phone is no longer a luxury (Every one has one)
47. You must know somebody to get employed.
48. If one is deported from a foreign land its the only place they will take you.

49. You can start smoking at 10. (A kid will buy cigaretes or beer provided he/she flushes the money)

50. There are no Back-ground checks or Drug screen to get employed.

51. Its the only country with the most beautiful flag in the world.

52. You sleep with chicken, cows, goats and sheep in the same house. Wake up dress in a suit and a tie while smelling like an animal and no one will care.

That is why I love Kenya

Let us know why you Love this great land.

miamama

Send a message via AIM to miamama
Default RE: 52 REASONS WHY I LOVE KENYA - 11-07-2001, 09:27 PM

no 42: this kumbushad me of when we were robbed actually it was my moms'car battery.....so si we kutad that the next day...my dad called the cops and guess whutt they told him ati "hatuna gari"..now wutt is that all about!!!! it really shook me coz i was like if we were really in an emergency wutt could have happened...anyway my dad went and picked them up they didn't even saidia kidogo ati they were checkin footprints

i love kenya coz peeps tell u when u have something wrong eg..fly open,,or something stuck on ur tooth....here u just have to find it out urself or one of ur really close girlfriends tells it to u it makes me sick!!

with an x & o this ma is out like WHoA!

Fancy_Maths

Default RE: 52 REASONS WHY I LOVE KENYA - 11-08-2001, 10:09 AM

You get to watch Vitimbi the whole family.

Cathy

Default RE: 52 REASONS WHY I LOVE KENYA - 11-08-2001, 01:12 PM

Are these 52 life experiences that ya ave enjoyed so greatly in Kenya that makes you hold them so fondly....LOL............

MercedesK

Default RE: 52 REASONS WHY I LOVE KENYA - 11-08-2001, 01:24 PM

Kiratu thats a good one LOL

53. The only place that your car is hijacked and when you report to the police station you find your hijacker ready to take the police report.

54. The place where you find chicks dressed in evening gowns at daytime

houdy_ny1

Send a message via ICQ to houdy_ny1
Default RE: 52 REASONS WHY I LOVE KENYA - 11-08-2001, 01:42 PM

>>>hoW can you forget the pints!!!!!!!!!!!!!!i'ts the only place you don't have to drink 20 litres of brewsky to get high.

>>>it has the best goddamn pub in the whole world..HORNBILL!

houdyny

Jnderitu

Default RE: 52 REASONS WHY I LOVE KENYA - 11-08-2001, 01:54 PM

- The drinking capital of the world with Nairobi West representing. You drink until you blackout.
- The only place where you would rather face the police than a mob justice.
- The neighborhoods are so tough that you go home after dark.
- The only place you see robbers get robbed on their way to the getaway car.
- The only place where the FBI guys have been pickpocketed.
-The only place you get sare rides in a mathree.
-The only place where 'mkono ya serekali ni ndefu' and yet this guys dont have your address. But invase of stupidity they toa you out of your house.
- The only place they sing to the prezi and tell him he is the prince of peace.
- The only place you do 200 on the road and with Kshs 100($1.25) you buy your way home.
- Finally the only place where the prezi can have his own show on TV and Radio since we hear of him every day.
- The times we used to have one TV station and it used to begin transmissions at 5.00pm and close down at 11.00pm.
Remember having to watch Yaliyotokea and akina Big Daddy on Wrestling?

ocho

Default RE: 52 REASONS WHY I LOVE KENYA - 11-08-2001, 02:31 PM

Calling the Cops coz thugs are outside your digz and the cops say they need a ride!!!!!!!!!!!!:7 ati so you pick them up!!

Jnderitu

Default RE: 52 REASONS WHY I LOVE KENYA - 11-08-2001, 02:44 PM

Screaming and setting off the alarm when the thugs invade. Then the also start screaming also telling you that you can scream the whole night but they will still enter your house.
So you kindly turn of the alarm and pass the money through the window grills. Also you give them your car-keys and they tell you to pickup your car in Dandora the following day.

TINMAN

Default RE: 52 REASONS WHY I LOVE KENYA - 11-08-2001, 02:44 PM

You forgot this one !!!!!
Kenya is the only place in the world, where you can tell women...including your mom, sister, aunts etc...that they are growing fat !
And they take it as a compliment !!!!