Go Back   Mashada Forums > Travel & Places > Abroad > YOUR FIRST MOMENTS ABROAD

(#71 (permalink))
tototss

Default RE: YOUR FIRST MOMENTS ABROAD - 12-25-2003, 05:21 PM

Sawa, tutamurega basi, we will not listen to #### he has to say.

An opinion is like an ####, everyone has one.

(#72 (permalink))
tototss

Default RE: YOUR FIRST MOMENTS ABROAD - 12-25-2003, 05:45 PM

-I did not have very bad experiences because I tried to do some research before I got here and tried to do the things I thought I knew how.
-Anyway, the first time I was going to go out clubbing with my jamaa, I dressed in jeanas and I nice checked shirt and very fly sport shoes I had just bought from the mall in excitement of going to mall for the first time...of course the stato malls are on another level compared to the mall and sarit center.....wacha I tokad from the b-romm to go into the living room so we can go out, my jamaa looks at me like....where are you going dressed like that. Yaani me I was used to raving with Jeans, a checked shirt and a spaghetti top inside, for freedom of dancing and hopping from one club to another...I had to go and change and to my surprise when we got to the club, I would have looke totally stupid if I went in my jeans and all.....no I dress like what in my opinion was whorish before I cam here, you know the ones you only used to see in F-2 only, yeah like that. Jamani, this maisha is something else. Wacha we were driving in DC halafu a girl pops up with very hot hot pants in the middle of the day, jamani.....now it is just another kawaida thing to see chics like those. Don't get me wrong, I was born jiji and can consider myself a juaji lakini this ujuaji was on another level for me.
Liking my stay here but planning on coming back home for the whole summer holiday in 04. I am pigaring OT here like nothing else to make the money for the trip.
an opinion is like an ####, everyone has one.

(#73 (permalink))
tototss

Default RE: YOUR FIRST MOMENTS ABROAD - 12-25-2003, 05:50 PM

This one was the best....did not happen to me but some other dude.

No offense to Kisii Dudes, but this guy from Kisii was the funniest....someone told him that when he fikas huku, all he has to do is stand at the entrance...(sliding doors), say his name and the doors open. He fikas airport, stands near the doors and says "Ochweri", voila, the doors open. A jamaa did that for like three ama four weeks mpaka the dude who was hosting him was like hapana, something is wrong here, and he asks "Ochweri" why he always says his name everytime they got to a door, wacha "Ochweri" explained how doors open when he says his name....VICHEKOS, I was told that one I almost died of laughter. It is true by the way, I have met "Ochweri" and he even jokes about it and has a serious "wanted" for this pple who lied to him before he came here.

(#74 (permalink))
tototss

Default RE: YOUR FIRST MOMENTS ABROAD - 12-25-2003, 05:52 PM

This one was the best....did not happen to me but some other dude.

No offense to Kisii Dudes, but this guy from Kisii was the funniest....someone told him that when he fikas huku, all he has to do is stand at the entrance...(sliding doors), say his name and the doors open. He fikas airport, stands near the doors and says "Ochweri", voila, the doors open. A jamaa did that for like three ama four weeks mpaka the dude who was hosting him was like hapana, something is wrong here, and he asks "Ochweri" why he always says his name everytime they got to a door, wacha "Ochweri" explained how doors open when he says his name....VICHEKOS, I was told that one I almost died of laughter. It is true by the way, I have met "Ochweri" and he even jokes about it and has a serious "wanted" for this pple who lied to him before he came here.

(#75 (permalink))

Default RE: YOUR FIRST MOMENTS ABROAD - 12-26-2003, 12:35 AM

First experience when I rudid Stato: I went to McD's for french fries at 10am, thinking that u could get a value meal anytime. Wapi!!! The cashier was like 'we are still serving breakfast'. So we start a little bargaining for fries....She got mad and was like 'can I help the next person?' I decide: first come first serve. So I check the menu real quick and I order, an egg sausage sandwich and a hash brown and a coke. The taste of my breakfast jolted my stomach. The meal was so fatty I nearly puked. Till leo, when I see Hash browns, i lenga them.

(#76 (permalink))
Mishi

Default RE: YOUR FIRST MOMENTS ABROAD - 12-29-2003, 05:38 PM

My most embarassing moment was my first time using an ATM. I happened to be in a country where they don't speak English. So, I go to the ATM, I insert my card, fidget with the buttons no chums come out so I thought the machine had eaten up my card and I had to go get it from the bank. It was a Sunday, so I leave and after a few steps I hear someone shouting. So, I turn back and this lady is holding my ATM card and she is screaming at me at the top of her lungs. I couldn't understand a word of what she was saying, I know she was trying to tell me that I shouldn't leave my card in the machine my money could be stolen. Since she was screaming, everyone around is watching us, I have no clue what she is saying. I started apologising and thanking her, I grabbed my card and took off without looking back till I got home. Wow, I can just imagine what the other pedestrians were thinking.

(#77 (permalink))
VisioNaRY

Default RE: YOUR FIRST MOMENTS ABROAD - 02-05-2004, 06:39 PM

LMBAO @ Ochweri,now that was funny...
see thats why it's good to start with places like malaysia,kenyas rule coz of their english and even if you do something stupid,they think thats the best was to do it.

anyway i had my moments to on the plane..unlike the person who went hungry coz he thought he had to pay,i was fully aware that i had paid for the food and i was going to use my money vizuri..and use it i did...fala,i ate kila kitu plus the plastic leaves that were supposed to be for decoration..ala,iko nini?

"If you are not part of the solution,then you are part of the problem!!"

(#78 (permalink))
jlopez

Default RE: YOUR FIRST MOMENTS ABROAD - 02-08-2004, 12:04 PM

When I first landed abroad (US via London). I was smart enough to observe others so that I knew what to expect and what to do. For example, when I was getting on the London tube during my transfer I waited and watched the pple ahead of me so when my turn came I knew to slide the ticket into the slot thingy, go through the bars and wait to get my ticket at the end. It was easy as cake!
After this I decided to continue observing pple before me and when I had a question I would simply ask with a smile and get great assistance.
You'd be suprised how many pple were willing to help, maybe even give you a discount or freebie.

(#79 (permalink))
horsenuts

Default RE: YOUR FIRST MOMENTS ABROAD - 02-09-2004, 08:58 AM

tehehe....kweli...for me drama started as soon as I shukad the plane...Around September hivi....I had the biggest,baddest warmest jacket ya'll have ever seen....And I was still in the airport...evrything sounds normal right....I was doing a good jobo of not embarrasing myself....so far so good...we toka outside and it's even colder so I zip up my jalley....then I notice people starin at me like I have two heads....So I piga a quick scan of myself and see that evrythin is in order....so I'm chillin for a shuttle to take me to my destination and I'm stilll getting strange looks....One guy who was standing next me goes "you must be pretty cold"....I'm like DUH! it's cold....and he like "this is summer it's really warm".....I thought he probably high on some cheap drugs....yeah but that was until January/February when I experienced the full wrath of a Canadian winter......

(#80 (permalink))
manvikta is an unknown quantity at this point

Default funny - 03-06-2004, 03:59 AM

This is just a great topic. Laughed ...my lungs hurt.
As for me...had shida with supermarkets too. Didn't know you can go in with your luggage.

<<<<LISTEN TO KENYAN RADIO >>>
http://www.tamaduni.com