Go Back   Mashada Forums > Travel & Places > Abroad > YOUR FIRST MOMENTS ABROAD

(#61 (permalink))
big momma

Default RE: YOUR FIRST MOMENTS ABROAD - 12-09-2001, 10:59 AM

I remember mine all too well......and boy do I feel like a prat.
I emembe boarding the bus with a friend,as we sat down I read the print by the drivers stall
'do not talk to the driver whilst he's driving, leave anything by the gang way...etc

for some reason not known to me some kids had tarnished the the whole meaning.My friend kept talking to me but i was not responding.......
...the message read"do not talk whilst he' driving"
As we got off I explained the reason why......boy did i get it!!!!

(#62 (permalink))
pleasureseka has a little shameless behaviour in the past

Default RE: YOUR FIRST MOMENTS ABROAD - 12-09-2001, 10:04 PM

when i first angukad states my siz came to pic me up from the airport. so since i was hungry she semad that we go by some feeda at BK before touching home. so i am talking to the cashier at BK and she's telling me what they have on the menu. I didnt jua 1/2 of the things on the menu so i semad. "Pardon me can you repeat what you said?".The casheir was like "say what?" I kept on saying "pardon me" and she kept on saying "say what?". we repeated this four times until my sizo stepped in and ordered for me.

(#63 (permalink))
Jnderitu

Default RE: YOUR FIRST MOMENTS ABROAD - 12-10-2001, 02:37 AM

I hated flying with a passion. I missed my BA flight from Nairobi so i had to go with Sabena up to Brusselsbe before connecting by a charter jet to Heathrow. I had travelled on smaller planes before but not for more than one hour.
So here i am and we take off and the taking off is fun:) though some priests near me started saying the rosary making me panic.
So after some time they brought the food and i see these yucky blackish vegetables and instantly i was full. Survived on liquids for the whole flight. Coffee and soda and my tumbo really sumbuad me.

The worst thing was in the air when we reached some altitude and my chest really suffered. i thought i was going to have an asthma attack and i was without an inhaler. It was so cold and i was experiencing breathing problems mpaka 'maji' was chucking from my nose.
This idiot refuses me to use a spare oxygen mask and they made me walk along the aisle for breathing purposes. Then after stabilising i tried to sleep but could not.I was gald to get to Brussels..

The same scenario happens in the BA to Chicago but luckily i was on a day flight and the cold was a bit bearable. By the time i landed i was soo sick that i wanted to drop dead. Then i had no one to receive me so i had to get myself to the school. The best part is that i had done my research and i knew how to get around.

But the fact is that any time i know i will be on a long distance plane ride i just get a stomach upset.

(#64 (permalink))
brook_d

Default RE: We should tell it as it is - 12-10-2001, 10:48 AM

I've noticed that many of us abroad convey a message back home that this place in a little heaven on earth when kumbe evrything is a total antithesis. That is why so many teens want to come here after their fourth form with so many dreams and goals. When they fika in states, reality of INS, high tuition fees, odd jobs, bills and a phlethora of responsibilities hit them and they realize that all the anectdotes they heard in Kenya were hoaxes and most of all, hollywood movies. The truth is, life is not any easier here than it is at home. The opportunities here are tremendous, but that doesn't make it easier to accomplish them. We should be truthful and tell our parents how things are here in states other than making them think we are having free rides. Most of us probably saw a junior college for one semester and that's the closest we ever been to higher learning. It is not because we dont want to attend school. It is just because the fees are too exorbitant to afford. If we tell it as it is here, it would not prevent folks from still wanting to come here, but it would spare them the disappointment if their knew ahead of time what lies ahead. It's normally easier for a brethren to take in the shock when he knows ahead of time what to anticipate. Please wananchi, tell it as it is!

(#65 (permalink))
GRACIE

Default RE: We should tell it as it is - 12-10-2001, 12:56 PM

This is the funniest topic of all times ,what do you think about aka mag with this stuff ,can publish it at my jobo for free then send guyz who participated a copy

(#66 (permalink))
intelligent_beauty

Default RE: We should tell it as it is - 12-10-2001, 11:17 PM

Mine had to be in restuarants.....

I had just fikad US the day before and was starving..I went to a quick joint for food and ordered french fries and "two sausages." For you in the US, you know that sausages here in the US are not sausages in Kenya..lets just say that when I got home I was in so much shock, that I couldn't even eat those Chipos.

My second day I met a cool person and we went to a restuarant for dinner. The waitress asked before the meal, "would you like a salad?" Si mi am thinking COLESLAW that will go WITH the chakula.... the waitress brought the salad and left....without bringing the food...I was in too much shock.....they wanted me to eat vegetables just like that?????? I didn't even know how to eat that salad....to me..salad was not eaten on its own!! truly, I felt like a rabbit but I had to stuff in the salad...so as not to look like a fool!

needless to say..lessons learnt.

(#67 (permalink))
Lioness

Default RE: YOUR FIRST MOMENTS ABROAD - 12-20-2001, 08:37 AM

I just have to love you guys!! I can hardly see the screen for the tears!! I almost caused a national disaster in Brito. Having been there for a few months and having spent those few months in gishagi of Brito, I hadn't been exposed to much. Travelling to Leicester thru Birmingham I decided to leave my huge bag in one of the corridors coz it was too heavy to carry around. I rudid to find cops (bobbies) and sniffer dogs surrounding it. There was a high alert about abandoned bags coz of IRA bombs and stuff. They were about to call the bomb guys to stuff my bag into one of those controlled explosion boxes and blow it up!!!!!

The Lioness has purred in embarrassment:)

(#68 (permalink))
brickhse

Default RE: YOUR FIRST MOMENTS ABROAD - 11-17-2003, 03:39 PM

>i had already started makin a fool of myself aboard the
>plane, BA flight 2069 as i recall, from nairobi to london, i
>had a whole two seats on the window to myself..and they
>brought me breakfast??(was it???) milk kando na chai baadaye,
>now this kaflight attendant, supuu jo! decides to bring the
>chai much later, and so mi sikujua, opened the katiny milk
>thingee and drank the whole thing, then she brings the chai
>and looks around and sees an empty thingee of milk and smiles.
>mi kondoo...was supposed to add the milk to the chai, not
>drink it out of the kaplastic container......embarassment
>lakini i hope she understood.man from the slopes fo sho...now
>cant teach me nada..

ROTLMAO :):D :D

http://www.kenyaniyetu.com/web/forum...atars/spot.gif

(#69 (permalink))
tysh

Send a message via AIM to tysh
Default RE: YOUR FIRST MOMENTS ABROAD - 11-24-2003, 09:34 AM

my first moment was standing on the wrong side of escalators(london underground) and blocking the damn thing with my very heavy bag.

HEIGHT OF LAZINESS

A guy lying on a gal and waiting for an earthquake to do the rest

http://img.atpictures.com/taye/t8.jpg

(#70 (permalink))
foxxy

Default RE: YOUR FIRST MOMENTS ABROAD - 11-30-2003, 05:33 PM

Y'all just cracked me up! This is too funny. This thread should keep going.