Originally Posted by msema ukweli Kabisa
with that said, he has been hurting out candidate very muc, and thats why i have a slight distate of him. Initially 30% of Americans thought Obama was a muslim. Now they realise he goes to church, but guess what now they hate the church he goes too.
in my opinion, obama's political opponents were determined to find something radically other about the man, and if wright didn't exist they would have still found something else to pin on him. they weren't able to prove he was a muslim so they did the best they could do and exposed his relation to wright (and by implication to black radicalism and marxism). mainstream america is scared of black america. it's that simple. if you spend enough time reminding voters that obama really is black, then you succeed in injecting that fear into people's minds. watu wanaogopa difference. if you repeat something enough, then people become obsessed by it- that's where the media's coverage comes in.
wright isn't such a big deal. his church is mainstream as far as churches go. the intolerance in his rhetoric is the same intolerance you hear from other denominations (religious rhetoric is painful to listen to if it's directed against you). if the man was a dangerous criminal he surely would have been arrested by now. i mean, he was in the marines, or is it the navy, and his church assists poor people. he makes noise about america, but he also serves america. that's benign, far as i'm concerned. he has earned the right to make noise.
by the way, america has come far, you're right. lakini for poor urban and rural americans, there's really not that much of an improvement. especially with this globalization deal (and drugs infiltrating their communities). they have a right to express their grievances. and akina wright have a right to speak out on their behalf. civil rights helped in the growth of a black middle class, and that's who has really gained. lakini poor people in this country have it much worse in some ways than they did 50 years ago. and i'm not just talking about black people, i mean all races. poor white americans, native americans, hispanics and others also have grievances but nobody is listening to them right now.