(#76 (permalink))
Nerimae is on a distinguished road

Default 04-25-2008, 05:59 PM

Ok lemme make something clear, I'm not in any way encouraging people to break laws, coz re-reading my post it sounded like thats what I was saying. Pliz, make sure you abide by the laws in your new host country. At the time that I was in France, I was a teenager who threw all care to the wind, plus I spoke French which is very criticial coz they tend to give you leeway if you speak their language.
Kemi, I think you missed my point.What I was saying is, American citizens, I feel should not say ati the rich are stealing from the poor, why? Coz they all have equal opportunity, if you choose to work at Walmart, dont be mad at Sam Walton coz he is paying you way below your worth. You can either find a better job or you advance yourself so that you get what you deserve. People forget that above anything else, America is a capitalist nation, it rewards entrepreneurs/businesses and punishes jobs/ careers ( to a point). The economic stimulus package you are talking about, I questioned why a capitalist nation would give out $600 checks to millions of its citizens until I found the catch. While the common mwananchi is being appeased with $600, small business' tax deductions have doubled. Before small businesses could deduct upto $250,000 on taxes, now its at $500,000 and the maximum you can deduct is $800,000, talk about a real economic stimulus package. Now I understand why Republicans love Bush!!! So basically that $600 check is for wananchi to plough right back into small businesses. As much as America may not be the best place socially, I think when it comes to business, very few countries can compete. And remember as a business owner, you can provide your own healthcare, which basically means free healthcare. How I measure the economic might of a country is by how many self made Millionaires it has, so you can come up with lists of how the UN, or whichever agency ranks countries but at the end of the day, show me the money. The way I look at it, work hard in the US, vacation hard in Europe and Africa. As I write this I have less than $1000 in my account, but the reason I love this country is nothing is impossible, there are too many self made Millionaires and I aspire to be one of them one day.